Mixed results as Uganda returns to Namboole

It was a mixture of results as Uganda Cranes returned to Namboole for the first time in five years.

Playing their third 2026 World Cup qualifying game, Uganda made a winning return to Namboole, thanks to a 74th Muhammad Shaban goal to beat Botswana.

Shaban, who came on as substitute capitalized on a Dennis Omedi delivery from the right flank to put the ball past the Botswana goalkeeper to send fans into frenzy at the fully packed Namboole.

Uganda held onto the lone goal to secure victory against Botswana and ensure they remained third in the group on six points.

Algeria puts Uganda’s celebrations to halt

 In the fourth game in the group, Algeria that had earlier lost to Guinea at home put up a spirited fight to beat Uganda at Namboole 2-1 in the 2026 World Cup qualifiers.

The hosts took the lead through a Travis Mutyaba belter, only 10 minutes after kickoff.

 Mutyaba capitalized on a careless pass by Mohamed Madani to get hold of the ball, race towards the Algerian goalkeeper before putting the ball past him for Uganda to take the lead.

 Fans who also included the First Lady and Sports Minister Janet Museveni, deputy Speaker of Parliament, Thomas Tayebwa and FUFA president Moses Magogo were thrown into frenzy with the goal.

Cranes went ahead to dominate the first half of the game , creating chance after chance.

However, all went begging.

 In the second stanza, the Algerians got redemption when they equalized, just a minute after restart through Houssem Aouar .

The North Africans  put the game to bed following mis-controlled ball from Kenneth Semakula saw the visitors make a quick counter which ended in the back of Uganda’s net.

The game ended 2-1 in favour of the Algerians.

The proceedings at Namboole saw Uganda stay on six points, three below joint table leaders Algeria and Mozambique.

With the number of teams to play in the finals expanding from 32 in Qatar to 48 in North and Central America, Africa are guaranteed a record nine places, and possibly 10.

Each group winner in the nine groups will qualify automatically to the World Cup and the best four runners-up will enter play-offs.

The winner will go into inter-confederation play-offs with two teams from North or Central America and one each from Asia, South America and Oceania with two places up for grabs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button