Who are the youth MPs in Uganda?

Uganda has five members of parliament directly elected to represent youths.

With one for the national, each of the four regions also has a youth MP.

The Youth Blitz looks at the profiles of the five youth MPs.

Phiona Nyamutoro

 Nyamutoro is the national female youth MP, having been elected in 2021.

Polling 296 votes, Nyamutoro, from Nebbi beat her closest rival, Prima Tukamushabe by 230 votes to become the first female youth MP from West Nile.

Born in Mbaro Village in Nebbi District, Ms Nyamutoro went to Najjera Progressive for her primary education and later on joined Pallisa Secondary School for O-Level, before going to Bweyogerere SS for A-Level.

She holds a First Class Bachelor’s Degree in Development Studies and a Master’s in Public Administration and Management from Makerere University.

Nyamutoro is currently the state minister for energy in charge of minerals.

Bernard Odoi

Odoi is the youth MP for Eastern Uganda

Born on August, 28, 1982, Mr Odoi sat for his O-Level education at Tororo Progressive Academy in 1999 and A-Level at Lugazi Homeland College in 2009.

Thereafter, in 2010, he went to Kampala International University, graduating in 2014 with a Bachelor of Law degree.

Edson Rugumayo

Rugumayo was born on June 6, 1994 in Kiranga Village, Rwebisengo Sub-county in Ntoroko District.

He went to Ngabe Primary School in Ntoroko for his primary education.

Rugumayo went to Ntare School where he completed both O and A level (2008-2013).

He has a Bachelor’s of Science in quantity surveying from Makerere University (2014- 2019).

Rugumayo served as secretary for foreign affairs with the national executive committee of the National Youth Council, before being elected Youth MP for Western Region.

Boniface Henry Okot

Okot was born in  Akalo Sub-county in Kole District. He went to Lira Central Primary School, St Mary’s College Kisubi for both O and A level .

He later joined Makerere University where he got an under graduate degree in engineering .

He is the MP for Northern Uganda but before his election as youth MP, Okot was the Youth Council chairman of Akalo Sub –County in Kole District where he hails from.

Agnes Kirabo

In the 2021 election, Kirabo beat six men to win the position of the national youth MP for Central Uganda.

Born on January, 8, 1992, Kirabo has a master’s degree in Business Administration from Makerere University.

Kirabo formerly worked as an employee at the National Resistance Movement secretariat where she served as secretary for female affairs and as an auditor.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button