Uganda qualifies for Cricket World Cup

Uganda has made history by qualifying for a Cricket World Cup for the first time.

The East African country  beat Rwanda by nine wickets, ensuring a top-two finish in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa qualifier to  officially lock in their place in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

The world cup will be played  in the USA and West Indies.

Uganda had earlier in the qualifiers won four of their five games by beating Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Nigeria and Kenya but losing to  co-qualifiers, Namibia, who remain unbeaten in the tournament so far. 

Uganda’s  Alpesh Ramjani, Brian Masaba, Henry Ssenyondo and Dinesh Nakrani took two wickets each to bundle out their opposition for 65 in 18.5 overs, after putting them in to bat first. 

Uganda now joins Namibia from the Africa qualifier in the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will feature 20 teams for the first time ever.

The First Lady and Minister for Education and Sports, Janet Kataaha Museveni congratulated the team upon qualification.

“I take this opportunity to warmly congratulate the national Cricket tram  in celebration of this incredible milestone. We thank God for gifting you and Uganda such a massive stage at the  Cricket World Cup  for you to showcase your talents and achieve even more,” Mrs Museveni tweeted.

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Uganda, United States of America (USA) are the countries which have so far qualified for the cricket world cup.

For the first time, 20 teams will form part of the event and will be divided into four groups of five.

The top two teams in each of the groups will move to a Super Eight phase, where the remaining teams will be split into two groups of four.

The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals, followed by the final.

Held every two years, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, is  an international cricket tournament, organised by the International Cricket Council since 2007 and current world champions in T20 are England.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button